Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] Sci-fi gun need C&C and help!

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
GuangArt polycounter lvl 6
Hi,
Im very new to gaming mesh workflow. I just did my first map baking out of a gun.
heres the high res low res and wire and normalmap together with the concept.

there are a lot of messed up parts which i tried to fix by painting on the normal map. also i wonder how i should approach the texturing part. Can any1 suggest me a good workflow for texturing this model? thanks a lot!!
7748903318_2f9ff702c9_z.jpg
7748903892_458471a02a_c.jpg

7748903654_aa0264c29d_c.jpg
7748903490_d7cc3359cc_c.jpg
7748903768_d2e73a5af9_z.jpg

Replies

• danpaz3d
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    danpaz3d polycounter lvl 7
    For me at least, the process I use to texture depends on the complexity of the object. Most of the time it ends up being in Zbrush, but sometimes for basic geometry/UVs I put it straight into Photoshop.

For this, I'd probably switch between the two. I'd start off with a basic texture in Zbrush (defining edges and such), then into photoshop for more definition (hard corners/straight lines etc..), back into zbrush for final tweaking and finally in photoshop for final touch-ups.

But then again, everyone has their own way. I suggest keep researching some ways and find what suits you best. Hope this helped!
  • GuangArt
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    GuangArt polycounter lvl 6
    danpaz3d wrote: »
    For me at least, the process I use to texture depends on the complexity of the object. Most of the time it ends up being in Zbrush, but sometimes for basic geometry/UVs I put it straight into Photoshop.

For this, I'd probably switch between the two. I'd start off with a basic texture in Zbrush (defining edges and such), then into photoshop for more definition (hard corners/straight lines etc..), back into zbrush for final tweaking and finally in photoshop for final touch-ups.