Home General Discussion

Question about my jobsearch

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
reverendK polycounter lvl 7
I find myself in an interesting predicament.

I started my current job while I was still in school. We're a tiny team working on a somewhat unique project. It's good work and fun, but i'm not exactly content here for a number of reasons:
1. I am the only employee on the project who's out of school - and I only graduated three months ago.
2.I am the ONLY artist on the project. I have done everything from UI to some technical animation - this is actually a good thing as it keeps me on my toes, but it's incredibly frustrating at times without anybody my professional senior to go to for help from time to time.
3. Also related to that is the fact that i'm not getting the "on the job" learning that everybody says they get at their first job - where you learn 10 times more than you ever did at school. I'm still learning, but it's the google-driven brain-painey learning that you do by yourself.
3. The studio isn't exactly connected into the greater industry - even our publisher has never done software before...
4. I have remained part time along with the rest of the team. I'm doing alright - i can pay my bills and that's about it - but things are finishing up here and there are no guarantees yet.

I've had a lot of fun, but i've been on the hunt for full time work for a while now. My Boss is awesome to work with and he's aware of my activities in this area, so i'm not exactly sneaking around - i also have every intention of staying until our work is done even if i find work. So i've been working on my portfolio every day and dropping resume's in all the proverbial wells.

My question, though, is this:
Is it generally frowned upon to be looking for work while you're currently employed at a studio. Even though my situation is unique I know that just by glancing at my resume an HR person doesn't know that.