edusimapartment01.jpg
edusimapartment02.jpg
edusimapartment03.jpg
edusimapartment04.jpg
edusimapartment05.jpg
edusimapartment06.jpg
edusimapartment07.jpg
edusimapartment08.jpg

This is going to be the main hub for an educational game that a friend and I are working on. But it's basically my first finished environment, and I know it could be better, but lack the experience to identify areas that can be improved. It's supposed to be clean, but I can't help feeling that some areas are just too empty and bland. I could probably remedy this by creating more props to populate it and that is what I am doing, but any suggestions would help.

Also for an environment of this size, what is a rough estimate of how big the lightmaps should be? At the moment the scene uses 60x1024x1024 dual lightmaps, which I think may be too much although I have no experience to compare it to.

Also would it be better to use props with more geometry / no normal maps over low poly props with normal maps? For this scene I tried to bake normal maps for every prop, and rounded out the corners of the walls and roofs with more geometry.

Replies

• gsokol
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    But it's basically my first finished environment

Id say its pretty good considering that. The top down shot is pretty nice.
    but I can't help feeling that some areas are just too empty and bland. I could probably remedy this by creating more props to populate it and that is what I am doing, but any suggestions would help.

Yea definitely add more props if you can. Get some more pictures on some of those bare walls...get a table in the kitchen...maybe a chest or a rug on the floor at the foot of the bed.
    Also for an environment of this size, what is a rough estimate of how big the lightmaps should be? At the moment the scene uses 60x1024x1024 dual lightmaps, which I think may be too much although I have no experience to compare it to.