Home Career & Education

Art Periods/History

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
IchII3D polycounter lvl 12
Recently I was getting some critic on my work when a friend mentioned how similar it was to Rococo. My response was "what's that?". This made me realise I have very little knowledge of art periods and history. I'm typically one to shun away education, but it made me realised how valuable knowing the different periods of art history could be. Not just to help communicate but to start thinking about mixing periods together to create dramatic art styles.

So anyway I started using this website as reference http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Art_periods but was wondering if anyone had any book recommendations? It would be great to flick through lots of pictures and small bits of reading while slugging on the sofa watching horrible TV.

If not a book, has anyone found an awesome website that everyone needs to checkout. Please share as I'm very much coming up empty :(

Replies

• Bigjohn
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Bigjohn polycounter lvl 11
    IchII3D wrote: »
    I'm typically one to shun away education
    Huh? Why? Where's the disadvantage in knowing more? Even if you find the knowledge to be useless, at least you know what to avoid. Or maybe you mean that you usually shun official education in favor of exploring things yourself, in which case I'm right there with you.

At any case, it seems to me to be a genuine problem now that we're forgetting things. There are things, especially in art, that have already been solved and figured out, books have been written, and yet we make those mistakes today.

IchII3D wrote: »
    If not a book, has anyone found an awesome website that everyone needs to checkout. Please share as I'm very much coming up empty :(

http://www.artrenewal.org/
  • xk0be
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    This seems cool, http://arthistory.about.com/od/arthistory101/Art_History_101.-J53.htm