Home General Discussion

Novice as leade environment artist.

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
underfox polycounter lvl 7
Hi guys, I sent my resume and portfolio to few game studios and one replied me that my " dossier " drawed theyr attention for the position of " lead environment artist 3D " ( damn I probably didn't noticed it was " lead environment artist " and not just environment artist ) and they are asking me for for a meeting :poly122:

The thing is, i'm a novice who never worked in the game industry before except with my school mates ( were i actualy was the game designer but i don't think it counts as experience ) and clearly stated in my cover letter that i just finished school.

Do you think they saw it? do you think i should turn down the offer saying that i wasn't carefully reading the offer and though it was for an environment artist position? Or should i try going to the meeting anyway?

I'm not afraid of challenges, i wouldn't mind starting my career as a successfull " lead environment artist " but i'm afraid to fail and then beeing blacklisted by the other companies because of my failure.

I need your opinion on the matter, i'm scarred shitless. :poly127:

Replies

• slipsius
    if they want a meeting, give them a meeting. Just be completely honest and upfront about everything. Talk to them about how you feel about it, and if you`re up for the challenge. Some smaller studios do have notice people as leads. They may have more schooling then the other people working there, or just be so small that they ONLY have leads.

Thing is, let them decide if you`re good enough for the position. Why turn down a great opportunity just because you think you`re not good enough? Believe in yourself.
  • underfox
    Offline / Send Message
    @dustinbrown here is my portfolio http://jimmypereira.weebly.com/

@slipsius scary situation , i shall give them a meeting then and tell them what they can expect from me.
  • PolyHertz
    Offline / Send Message