Home General Discussion

Your experiences with mod teams?

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
lukepham101 polycounter lvl 7
Hey Guys,

It's my first time posting here, I'm a long time fan of Polycount and it's fantastic community here, I just wanted to ask you guys your experiences with mod teams, since I know you a lot of guys came from modding background. I'd also love to hear on what made them successful and what to avoid.

I'm a recent graduate in Australia currently working as a 3D Artist at a studio called Catalyst Interactive in Australia that makes serious games for the military using CryEngine 3. Here's a link to my portfolio www.bugfush.com. Unfortunately the situation for the industry here down here in Aus hasn't been fantastic, so it's a bit of a problem in getting work that's not mobile gaming, although I like what the guys down down here, it's not I want to pursue exactly. I've worked with some mod teams before in the past, but unfortunately they've mainly fell flat for a number of reasons, ie; the leads of the projects suddenly disappearing off the face of the planet, having no real experience with programming or art, expecting to lead because he has an "idea" etc. These days, I try to be more cautious on who I do work for now, since time is precious & you really can't commit to doing pointless work for people. I guess I just want to ask the community here on their own experiences on what made the mod teams they worked on good or bad.

Thanks guys!

Replies

• Aigik