Home Unreal Engine

Green strip in reflections

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
JoshWilkinson polycounter lvl 9
I have a reflective material set up but I am getting a terrible green strip in my reflection. It seems the more distortion I apply to the reflection, the worse the green strip gets. Any news on how to solve this issue?

CuB90.jpg
WHIsK.jpg

Replies

• Skillmister
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Skillmister polycounter lvl 11
    From what i researched on the matter some time ago there isn't a fix for it.

Something that helped make it less obvious though was adding a one minus node part way through the material and multiplying it back in, now it only shows up on the very edges and much fainter along the bottom

invertgreen.JPG
  • imbueFX
  • JoshWilkinson
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for the write up dude. Here's the new materials with the oneMinus node. May not hurt to check off on it because I've learned I'm not a tech artist and can't always trust my eye; I make tons and tons of rookie mistakes.
    ehd6Z.jpg

Looking at the reflection, it appears to have muted the green strip (1), but it also appears as though it muted what it was reflecting (2).
    8phPX.jpg
  • JoshWilkinson
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    imbueFX, thanks for the find. I tried out the UV clamp method it mentioned just now, but it produced almost identical results. Was about to try the bilinear filter but I quickly realized that I have no idea what I'm looking at.

As I mentioned before, I'm not tech artist. In the bilinear filter material, what is off screen on the right? And what is the green filter's "If" plugged into on the bottom?

Either way though, the bilinear filter write up sounded like it would mute the green channel similar to the OneMinus node, which is not ideal for my scene right?
  • Skillmister
    Options
    Offline / Send Message