Home General Discussion

Specializing in low poly...

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
MainManiac polycounter lvl 11
Cant high poly artists just make low poly characters etc too? I personally see the only selling point of low poly is if you can do high poly textures.

So in reality is there only 1 type of character artist and thats it because they can do everything?

Replies

• Justin Meisse
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Justin Meisse polycounter lvl 18
    yes, most places will expect you to go from nothing to a finished asset ready to rig - so if that involves making a high poly model and baking normal maps, that is part of the process.

by the way, I'm a 3D artist that does low poly models and paints textures in photoshop & 3dcoat, my studio doesn't use normal maps.
  • Kwramm
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Kwramm interpolator
    a very very few studios just have "sculptors", usually folks who're so damn good that it's okay if they don't know the low poly stuff. Those guys usually come from a sculpting background too. But those positions are super duper rare as this is extremely specialized and there's no need to hire lots of those folks...it's really an exception. In general it's what Justin says.

In my company we separate people by skill, both production wise but also when it comes to a certain type of asset. Some folks are better with realistic stuff, some are better with cartoony, some have more experience modeling hi poly props'n'gear (which is often actually hard surface stuff, either modeled in ZB or in max/maya). While everyone has a working knowledge of hi and low poly modeling (and texturing), not everyone can make every character.
  • MainManiac
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Oops I should have been more specific. I mean low poly for games similar in quality to CSS or WoW or possibly the mobile market
  • Shiniku
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Shiniku polycounter lvl 9