Home Technical Talk

Effects based visibility optimization?

Hi,

I'm not an expert in technical game artistry, but i got an idea lookin' at this screenshot from Watch Dogs:

Watch-Dogs-2.jpg

The question is, does modern rendering optimization softwares take account the huge amounts of bloom, depth of field, lens flares and other effects that games today have? As far as i know, lighting effects aren't actual geometry so they aren't taken to account when doing stuff like occlusion culling, backface culling and such.

I think it could improve rendering performance if geometry behind those bloomy areas in the picture could be culled away completely. Maybe optimizer could check the transparency of the effect and adjust LOD accordingly? Maybe adjusting LOD based of the lighting intensity of the rendered image? There wouldn't be that much help for this particular image as the lights are so far away and meshes will be lodded anyway, but for lights/geometry that are close to camera, this would be very helpful.

Also depth of field could be used to adjust the LOD levels, not just for objects far away but up close to the camera.

This same idea would apply for the level of darkness in the game.
Why not optimize LOD levels according to the amount of blackness? Players won't see it, so why should the renderer?

As I said, I'm not expert in these things so it may very well be that these ideas are already used or not possible at all,
but i needed to share my thoughts. What do you think?

Replies

• ivanzu
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ivanzu polycounter lvl 10
    There is a chance that code like that would be really hard on CPU so games would freeze and lag.
  • walreu
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ivanzu wrote: »
    There is a chance that code like that would be really hard on CPU so games would freeze and lag.

How it would differ from ,lets say, occlusion culling or backface culling? Cpu is doing that stuff all the time..
  • LoTekK
    Options